alignment.

i’ve been thinking.  thinking about who i’m surrounding myself with.  who are the leaders in my life?  who is it that i’m listening to?  who am i allowing to help me with character issues?  who do i look to and say “wow–that is someone i’d like to be like.”

okay–of course studying, following and knowing Jesus should be step #1.

i’m talking about folks on earth.

i’ve found myself wanting to be surrounded by people that will challenge me to be better.  better at all of it. being a better christian, husband, father, friend, musician and worship leader.  being better at managing finances.  being better at keeping my mouth shut.  being better at helping those that are in need.  all of it.

those words that my mom said are so true — “you are who you hang around!”  i hated to hear it back then but it is so true.

i thank God that He is placing people in my life that can show me how to be better.  i want to be aligned with these people.  i know that i will grow through knowing them.

13 Responses to “alignment.”

  1. Hope Says:

    Jake – your title reminded me of Bro. Gary Bauer. It’s kind of hard to believe that he’s gone…I can still hear him – “Praise Ye Mighty God Jehovah!!” Anyway – alignment…
    Yep, you’re so right. I am on a quest to have people in my life who challenge me for good. I want someone to help me be changed for the better. I think I used to feel threatened by those who could do and be so much more than me (pitifully insecure) but God has really helped me focus on not just doing what I do well, but to find people who do what I do better AND to learn from them. Listening to you and Lori helps me be a better parent. (The two of you really amaze me – especially Lori – my parenting heroine!!)
    Yes, I hear Momma’s voice and I can see her face…”birds of a feather…”
    I thank God for you – you challenge me. I’m thankful that I’m aligned with you.
    You’re the best!! I love you!

  2. Daron Says:

    Good words, dude! Thanks for just being a friend and encourager over these past few months. I feel like i’ve been completely empty, pretty much “out of alignment”, and unable to give much at all lately, and I’ve just sort of leaned on you & Lori, and you guys being who you are–been doing that in solitude and at a distance, but leaning on you nonetheless! Thank you for your friendship!

  3. Michael Higgins Says:

    Hey Jacob, Great words of wisdom. The amazing thing about hanging out with good people is the transition that takes place which makes them the only people you want to hang out with. To use the old cliches “You are what you eat”. The more you become what God wants you to be the more other want to hear what you have to say and hang out with you. God Bless,

  4. Rob S. Says:

    I agree with you 100%! I only wish we lived a little closer to each other. I know you could challenge me as I follow where you have already been. I’m thankful for the opportunity to help the Kelly’s lead worship and I am excited about the future.

    Thanks for the good word. Now, if I can only get one of these umpteen-million song ideas finished…

  5. Stephanie Lester Weaver Says:

    Jacob how right you are! I have been going through the process of “spring cleaning” those people in my life that negatively effect me. In doing so, I have found that the old saying, “birds of a feather flock together” is so true. Pastor always says to look who you hang around and that is who you will be one year from now. Is it something you are happy with? I hope that I am the kind of person that makes others want to be better and I am certainly blessed by those around me that make me “stretch” and become better myself. Good food for thought.

  6. Robert Bradley Says:

    I grew up with a similar saying, “Show me your friends and I’ll show you who you are”. Good stuff Jacob.

  7. MJ Says:

    Your Alignments will determine your next Assignments

  8. Georgie Says:

    Jake
    Although you didn’t mention me – I realize that I am the person who has helped you learn just how to keep your mouth shut and it was a my pleasure. I love you and I am so proud of you.

  9. KathySteele Says:

    Great words, Jacob! Thank you, Hope, for the “Lori compliment”. She amazes me—and so does Jacob!!!

Leave a Reply

